Print this page

Dr. Osagie Ehanire Inaugurates Governing Board For Nursing & Midwifery Council Of Nigeria, Charges It To bring About Most Desired Change In Shortest Possible Time

The Honourable Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire has inaugurated the Governing Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria with an advice to the newly inaugurated Board to note that “procurement and award of contracts are not part of Board functions: they are strictly guided by provisions of the procurement Act, 2007, as provided by the Bureau of Public Procurement.”  He also charged the Board to help put measures in place that will strengthen the Council's resource base, increase internally Generated Revenue (IGR) and improve effectiveness and efficiency of resource utilization, in line with Government Financial Regulations.

The inauguration of the Governing Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria took place 16th November, 2020 at the Statement Hotel, Central Business District, Abuja.

Dr. Ehanire pointedly told the Board that the Next Level Agenda of President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR who is the appointing authority emphasizes transparency and accountability in the affairs of Health Institutions.  He said  Board members should set the highest standards for control of quality and discipline, reposition the profession for greater heights and note that the primary vision of the President as it involves nurses is achieving Universal Health Coverage and the Sustainable Development Goals.  The Honourable Minister summed up his charge for them to bring about the most desired change in the shortest possible time.

The inaugurated Governing Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria which was for 2020 to 2023 comprises Dr, (Mrs) Bola Ofi as Chairman while members include Mrs Veronica Okolo, Comrade Abdrafiu A. Adeniji, Comrade T. A. Shettima, Mr. Aminu Bello Abdullahi , Mrs. Ajayi Olubukunola, Mrs. Agbo Stella Onyeamaka,  Safiya Yusuf Idris, Mrs. Maymunat A. Abubakar, Dr. Obute Pauline Binang.

Others are: Mr. Idris Zubairu, Mrs. Enunwaonye Chimdi H., Mr.Danladi Adamu, Prof. Ajibade Bayo Lawal, Dr. Abdurrahman Muhammad Sani, Mr. Maigari Babaji, Mrs. Akpoyovwere Obataze J., Dr. Joy O. Agbara, Mrs. Florence Okafor, Mr. Umar Fodio and Mr. Sunday Idubor.

Earlier the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Mr. Abdulaziz Mashi Abdullahi who was represented by the Director, Hospital Services, Dr. Adebimpe Adebiyi mni remarked that “the rapidly changing health care system requires highly competent leaders to advance their capabilities and knowledge in order to improve the quality of the Nigeria populace.”  The Permanent Secretary said that the year 2020 which came with the COVID-19 Pandemic and the notable role played by the Nurses in the management and control of the disease makes it apt to see the year as designated by the World Health Assembly as the year of Nurses and Midwives.  In the fight against the pandemic and other health challenges all over the world, he described the Nurses and Midwives as “incredible warriors.”

While responding on behalf of her Governing Board, the Chairman, Dr, (Mrs) Bola Ofi who was being reappointed for a Second Term, commended the Registrar and the Governing Council for their innovative and proactive ways of running the Council to achieve the Universal Health Coverage (UHC) and other national policies of health.  She extended same recognition and gratitude to the Honourable Minister for prompt action and approval of those enormous works of Council which needed his endorsement despite the tight schedules at leading the Ministry of Health in the battle against COVID-19.  She pledged on behalf of her new team not to disappoint.

Signed: Olujimi Oyetomi, Director, Media & Public Relations, with contribution from Blessing Egbo.