Dr. Mamora Inuagurates Re-constituted Governing Board of the Dental Technologist Registration Board of Nigeria

HMSH Dr. Olorunnimbe MamoraHMSH- Dr. Olorunnibe Mamora

Dr. Mamora Inuagurates Re-constituted Governing Board of the Dental Technologist Registration Board of Nigeria

The Honourable Minister of State for Health, Dr. Olorunnimbe Mamora on Friday 11th March 2022, inaugurated the re-constituted Governing Board of the Dental Technologist Registration Board of Nigeria (DTRBN) as approved in line with its established Act, at the Federal Ministry of Health Headquarters in Abuja.

Dr. Mamora while inaugurating the Board charged its members to equip themselves with the rules and regulations as contained in the enabling Act of the Constitution of the DTRBN as well as the Public Service Rules, Financial Regulations, and other Extent laws. “The roles you are called upon to play as Governing Board Members revolve around setting the standards for control and discipline which are the core elements required for Dental practice for any positive change to take place. Your appointments should be seen as an opportunity to make useful and selfless contributions towards uplifting healthcare delivery in Nigeria.”

The Minister drew the attention of the Board on the issue of professional harmony and discipline among Dental Technologist Practitioners. He informed of the continuing contentions and inter-professional rivalry among the various professional groups, Unions, and Associations in the health sector. These the Minister said, often lead to litigations and demands that are not implementable by the Government, with the news of the health sector, been that of threats to strike actions, resulting in low productivity and poor service delivery. ”As the Governing Board, your primary responsibility is to discourage professional rivalry which involves calming down frayed nerves, resolving industrial disharmony, and ensuring an end to strike by Health Professional Associations."

“To bring about the desired change, you must be upright to client protection and service delivery. You are required to devise innovative ways of ensuring that Dental Practitioners collaborate with one another and that they comply with the prescribed Code of Practice and Professional Conduct while maintaining the highest ethical decorum in and out of the workplace.

Speaking further, the Minister disclosed that there are six (6) principles which he always advocated for, which include; Coordination; Collaboration; Cooperation; Consultation; Consensus, and Cordiality. "We talk of separation of powers within the ambit of the law or the Constitution which is the supreme law of the land. But in terms of good governance you cannot separate them, but rather what you have is inter-dependence and in other to make that effective and functional, you must always put forward these principles Dr, Mamora advised."

HMSH Dr. Olorunnimbe Mamora with PSH Mr. Mahmuda MammanHMSH- Dr. Olorunnibe Mamora and PSH- Mr. Mahmuda Mamman

Earlier, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Mr. Mahmuda Mamman while congratulating the Board members reminded them that they were selected based on their experience and competence, therefore the Ministry has very high expectations of them. He urged the members to always abide by and operate under the guiding principles of the DTRBN Act. Mr. Mamman went further to advise the Registrar, to consider organizing an in-house training retreat for the newly appointed members to acquaint them with their roles and responsibilities.

The Board Chairman, Dr. L.A. Jokomba who spoke on behalf of his members expressed appreciation and gratitude to the Ministry for the confidence and trust bestowed on them and assured of the team’s ability to deliver on their mandate. He seized the opportunity to appeal to the Government to improve on the budgetary allocation of the DTRBN to enhance further development and growth.

The inaugurated Members of the Governing Board of the Dental Technologist Registration Board of Nigeria comprises of Dr. L.A. Jokoma - Chairman; Nafi'U B. Sani -Member representing Dental Technologist; Mr. Omoniyodo Lordson - Member representing Delta State; Mrs. Joyce A. OKere - Member representing Dental Technologists; Mr. Sobola Eniola Olusola - Member representing Ogun State; Muhd Gana - Member representing Bauchi State; Tirimisiyu A. Raji - Member representing Dental Schools; Likita Mado - Member representing Plateau State; Maina Ibrahim Biu - Member representing Public Interest; Mrs. Chibuzor S. Okonkwo - Member representing Schools involved in training members of the profession; Amishe A. Danjuma - Member representing University Teaching Hospitals; Mr. Umar Yahaya - Member representing FMoH.

By: Blessing Efem


A.A.A Chindaya (Deputy Director, Media & Public Relations)

FMOH Agencies

NCDC logo
NHIS logo
NIMR logo

COVID-19 Latest News, Resources & Updates Click Here!

COVID-19 Self Assessment Tool Click Here!

COVID-19 Vaccination Form Register Here!

National Guidelines For Clinical Management Of COVID-19 Download Here!